11 Dec

Mass Choir Annual Day 2009

Mass choir annual day

Theme: Heaven All The Way

I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Jesus Christ. Philippians 4:14

Host Choir – Starlight Missionary Baptist Church
Guest Pastor – Rev. Allen Guillory

10 Oct

Usher’s Annual Day 2009

At 3:30 P.M. Sunday, Friendship will be celebrating it’s Annual Day.

A brief history:

For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than to dwell in the tents of wickedness. (Psalms 84:10). In keeping with the spirit of this scripture, the Friendship Baptist Church Usher Board was organized in 1940 under the leadership of Rev. Calvin Walton. Sis. Lena Crosby and Sis. Molly Ann Weems were two of the original members.

The Usher Board was re-organized in 1949 under Rev. Calvin Miller. Sis. Lena Brookins became the President. Sis Catherine Miller was

After the departure of Sis. Brookins, Sis. Clara Ellis became the President. Some of the members at that time were: Sis Julia Walton, Sis. Raven and Sis. Catherine Miller.

In 1984, Sis Ellis gave up the post of President. Sis Miller also resigned as Secretary. An election was held and new officers were elected. Those new officers were: President – Bro. Lawrence Johnson, Vice-President – Sis. Lynne Bryant, Secretary – Sis. Matilda McCoy and Treasurer – Sis. Clara Ellis.

In 1986, Bro. Johnson resigned the Presidency. A meeting was called and Bro. Norris Jackson was elected President. On August 28, 1988, Bro. Norris Jackson resigned as the new President and Bro. Amos T. Jones was named as the new President. On September 11, 1988, Sis. Lynne Bryant resigned as Vice-President, Sis. Pearlie Freement was elected as Vice-President on that same day. Bro. Edward Dogan, Jr. was elected as Secretary on September 11, 1989.

In September,1995, Sis. Vanessa Adderly was appointed Vice-President and Sis. Shawn Ward was appointed Secretary.

In 2007, Connie Metters resigned her post as Vice-President and Craig Miller was named Vice-President.

Current Officers are:
President – Bro. Amos T. Jones
Vice-President – Bro. Craig Miller
Treasurer – Sis. Lynne Bryant
Secretary – Sis. Mona Hightower

17 Jan

The Week of January 18th and Deacon and Trustee Affirmation Day Programs

Here are the programs, put together by Sister Mona Hightower.
To change it up a little, would anyone prefer the content being posted from within these documents rather than the documents themselves?


© 2014 Friendship Missionary Baptist Church